Until the early 20th century, this building was rendered, as shown in the photograph below. The decorative timber framing was revealed in 1902 when the render was removed for renovation.
The fine woodwork is fascinating when seen close-up. The matching oriel window probably dates from the 19th century.
The building has been dated to 1571 by taking samples of the wood and examining the pattern of the tree rings - comparable quadrant bracing can be found on Jordans in Eashing (1575) and Great Tangley Manor, Wonersh
The radius of thequadrant braces on the right is different from the rest of the building, It is thought that there was initially an alley between nos 1 & 3 and that this was built over in the 16th century.
Going back in time
For enlargements, click images
Image: Godalming Museum, ref B000.63.3.30
This photograph from the 1930s shows the facade of no. 1 Church Street without the rendering.
Note the No. 3 is still rendered.
Image: Godalming Museum, ref 3090
This shows nos 1 and 3 Church Street, both covered with rendering, and it therefore dates from before the rendering was removed from No. 1 in 1902